FLIGHTS
WINNER OF THE MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL 2018
Olga Tokarczuk Fitzcarraldo Editions, 2018 Strony / Pages: 410, soft cover ISBN: 978-1-910695-82-1
List price: $16.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $14.41

Biographical Note:
Olga Tokarczuk is one of Poland's best and most beloved authors. In 2015 she received the Brueckepreis and the prestigious annual literary award from Poland's Ministry of Culture and National Heritage, as well as Poland's highest literary honour, the Nike and the Nike Readers' Prize. Tokarczuk also received a Nike in 2009 for Flights. She is the author of eight novels, two short story collections and has been translated into a dozen languages.

Jennifer Croft is the recipient of Fulbright, PEN, and National Endowment for the Arts grants, as well as the Michael Henry Heim Prize, and her translations from Polish, Spanish, and Ukrainian have appeared in the New York Times, n+1, Electric Literature, The New Republic, BOMB, Guernica, and elsewhere. She holds a Ph.D. from Northwestern University and an M.F.A. from the University of Iowa. She is a founding editor of The Buenos Aires Review.

Winner of the Man Booker International 2018: a wry, lyrical novel on travel and the human anatomy by one of Poland's most acclaimed authors.

Review Quotes:

'A writer on the level of W. G. Sebald.'
-- Annie Proulx, author of The Shipping News

'A magnificent writer.'
-- Svetlana Alexievich, Nobel Prize in Literature laureate 2015

'One among a very few signal European novelists of the past quarter-century.'
-- The Economist

' Flights could almost be an inventory of the ways narrative can serve a writer short of, and beyond, telling a story. The book's prose is a lucid medium in which narrative crystals grow to an ideal size, independent structures not disturbing the balance of the whole ... Much of the pleasure of reading Flights comes from the essay clusters embedded between sections of narratives ... The cascades of concise interstitial passages are often satisfying riffs on time and space, bodies and language, repetition and uniqueness ... Jennifer Croft's translation is exceptionally adventurous ... she can give the impression, not of passing on meanings long after the event, but of being the present at the moment when language reached out to thought.' -- Adam Mars-Jones, London Review of Books

'An indisputable masterpiece of "controlled psychosis..". Punctuated by maps and figures, the discursive novel is reminiscent of the work of Sebald. The threads ultimately converge in a remarkable way, making this an extraordinary accomplishment.' -- Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

'In the vein of W. G. Sebald, Flights knits together snippets of fiction, narrative and reflection to meditate on human anatomy and the meaning of travel: this is a delicate, ingenious book that is constantly making new connections.' -- Justine Jordan, Guardian

'Tokarczuk is one of Europe's most daring and original writers, and this astonishing performance is her glittering, bravura entry in the literature of ideas. ... A select few novels possess the wonder of music, and this is one of them. No two readers will experience it exactly the same way. Flights is an international, mercurial, and always generous book, to be endlessly revisited. Like a glorious, charmingly impertinent travel companion, it reflects, challenges, and rewards.' -- Eileen Battersby, Los Angeles Review of Books

'A welcome introduction to a major author and a pleasure for fans of contemporary European literature.' -- Kirkus

'Tokarczuk reads like a more cerebral W.G. Sebald in this work: Whereas what lingers of Sebald's works are the emotions he conjures up, what lingers of Tokarczuk are her ideas.' -- Nadia Padilla, The Millions

'Flights is a humanistic text, one unafraid of sorrow and pain, nor of wisdom and humor. Tokarczuk's writing is endlessly penetrating and revelatory. Unlike the maps and guidebooks it scorns, it never attempts to reach easy definition or clear meaning, and it's through this refusal to answer its own questions--about who people are or what the world is like--that it gains its power, its awestriking scope and fractal, refractive insights.' -- Jonathan Wlodarski, Music & Literature

'An unclassifiable medley of linked fictions and essays, the book occupies no fixed setting or place in time and its travels obey no established itinerary. Given a clear, welcoming translation by Jennifer Croft, its qualities are "fluidity, mobility, illusoriness."' -- Sam Sacks, Wall Street Journal
Promocja Tygodnia / Sale of the Week

Inne tytuly / Other titles
Anna In w grobowcach swiata Olga Tokarczuk Literackie, 2015 Strony / Pages: 196, miekka oprawa ISBN: 978-83-08-06054-4
List price: $22.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $19.51

Profesor Andrews w Warszawie Wyspa Olga Tokarczuk Literackie, 2018 Strony / Pages: 80, miękka oprawa ISBN: 978-83-08-06550-1
List price: $18.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $16.11

Flights Olga Tokarczuk Riverhead Books, 2018 Strony / Pages: 416, twarda oprawa ISBN: 978-0-525-53419-8
List price: $26(Save 15% off)Online price: $22.10

Opowiadania bizarne Olga Tokarczuk WYDAWNICTWO LITERACKIE, 2018 Strony / Pages: 254, twarda oprawa ISBN: 978-83-08-06498-6
List price: $24.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $21.21

Prowadz swoj plug przez kosci umarlych Olga Tokarczuk Literackie, 2017 Strony / Pages: 320, twarda oprawa ISBN: 9788308063545
List price: $29.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $25.46

Zgubiona dusza Olga Tokarczuk Format 2017 Strony / Pages: 52, twarda oprawa ISBN: 978-83-61488-74-3
List price: $29.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $25.46

Szafa Olga Tokarczuk Wydawnictwo Literackie, 2016 Strony / Pages: 64, miękka oprawa ISBN: 978-83-08-06091-9
List price: $18.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $16.11

Lalka i perla Olga Tokarczuk Wydawnictwo Literackie, 2016 Strony / Pages: 87, miękka oprawa ISBN: 978-83-08-06092-6
List price: $19.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $16.96

Ostatnie historie Olga Tokarczuk Wydawnictwo Literackie, 2015 Strony / Pages: 296, miękka oprawa ISBN: 978-83-08-06056-8
List price: $22.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $19.51

Gra na wielu bebenkach Olga Tokarczuk Wydawnictwo Literackie, 2015 Strony / Pages: 416, miękka oprawa ISBN: 978-83-08-06055-1
List price: $25.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $22.06

Dom dzienny dom nocny Olga Tokarczuk Wydawnictwo Literacki, 2015 Strony / Pages: 392, miekka oprawa ISBN: 978-83-08-05595-3
List price: $24.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $21.21

Bieguni Olga Tokarczuk Wydawnictwo Literackie, 2015 Strony / Pages: 460, miekka oprawa ISBN: 978-83-08-05594-6
List price: $25.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $22.06

Ksiegi Jakubowe Olga Tokarczuk WYDAWNICTWO LITERACKIE 2014 Strony / Pages: 912, twarda oprawa ISBN: 978-83-08-04939-6
List price: $44.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $38.21

Moment niedzwiedzia Olga Tokarczuk Wydawnictwo Krytyki Politycznej , 2012 Strony / Pages: 192, twarda oprawa ISBN: 978-83-62467-36-5
List price: $25.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $22.06

Primeval And Other Times Olga Tokarczuk Published by: Twisted Spoon Press, 2011 Strony / Pages: 248, soft cover ISBN: 978-80-86264-35-6
Online price: $15.95

SZAFA Olga Tokarczuk Wydawnictwo: Literackie, 2005 Strony / Pages: 64, twarda oprawa ISBN: 83-08-03746-1
List price: $16.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $14.41

HOUSE OF DAY HOUSE OF NIGHT Olga Tokarczuk Published by: Northwestern University Press, 2003 Strony / Pages: 293, soft cover ISBN: 0-8101-1892-0
List price: $19.95(Save 15% off)Online price: $16.96